Jan 14 • Indian Polity • 524 Views • No Comments on INDIAN POLITY ‘THE VICE PRESIDENT’


Important points from INDIAN POLITY   ‘THE VICE PRESIDENT’

The Vice – president of India-

  1. The  provision of Vice president is given the article 63.
  2. According to  article 63 There shall be a Vice  president of India.
  3. Article 64 as that the Vice president shall act as the ex-officio chairman of Rajya Sabha.
  4. The Vice president Shall act as the President in case of vacancy ( i.e Death, removal or any other reason)
  5. The provision of Qualification of  Vice President is given article 66.



  1. The vice president should be the Citizen of India.
  2. He or she should have completed 35 years of Age.
  3. The vice president should  not hold the office of profit.
  4. He should be qualified to become the member of Rajya Sabha.



  1. The method of election of vice president is indirect.
  2. The election takes place by the members of an electoral college which consists members of lok sabha and rajya sabha.
  3. The name of this kind  of election is called Proportional representation by the means of single transferable vote. (PR/STV)
  4. The voting is done by secret ballot.


Oath and Tenure-

  1. The Oath of the vice president is administered by the President.
  2. In case president is not available then the oath is administered by the person appointed by the president.
  3. The provision of oath is given in article 69 of Indian constitution.
  4. The tenure of the office is 5 years. The provision of tenure of vice president is given article 67.


  1. The Vice president acts  as Ex- officio chairman of Rajya  Sabha.
  2. The Vice President acts as president in the absence of the president that can be in the case of Death, absence from the country,.
  3. While doing he will draw the the salary as president and not the chairman of Rajya Sabha.
  4. Given below is the list of vice- presidents of India.

Vice Presidents of India



Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan 13-May-52 to 12-May-62
Dr. Zakir Hussain 13-May-62 to 12-May-67
Sh. Varahagiri Venkata Giri 13-May-67 to 3-May-69
Gopal Swarup Pathak 31-Aug-69 to 30-Aug-74
Basappa Danappa Jatti 31-Aug-74 to 30-Aug-79
Justice Mohammad Hidayatullah 31-Aug-79 to 30-Aug-84
Ramaswamy Venkataraman 31-Aug-84 to 24-Jul-87
Shankar Dayal Sharma 3-Sep-87 to 24-Jul-92
Kocheril Raman Narayanan 21-Aug-92 to 24-Jul-97
Krishan Kant 21-Aug-97 to 27-Jul-02
Bhairon Singh Shekhawat 19-Aug-02 to 21-Jul-07
Mohammad Hamid Ansari 11-Aug-07 to Incumbent

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

« »