History of Indian Constitution II

Jan 5 • Indian Polity • 487 Views • No Comments on History of Indian Constitution II

History of Indian Constitution II

Below are some important points History of Indian Constitution II

Important Acts in History of Indian Constitution II

Government of India -1919

  • This act is also called Montague chelmsford  Reforms.
  • Montague was the secretary of state at that time and chelmsford was  the respective viceroy.
  • According to the Government of India Act -1919 diarchy was introduced.
  • Diarchy means Dual Government.
  • The concept of legislation was introduced by this act.
  • The provincial Budget was separated from the central budget.
  • The concept of Bicameralism was also introduced by this act-According to which legislation should be divided into two houses upper house and lower house.
  • The upper house was called council of state and the lower house was called Legislative assembly.
  • The majority of the both the houses were elected directly.
  • In the year 1919 due to failure of government reforms  ‘Swaraj’ or ‘Self Government’ was formed.


Simon commission

  • A group of British members of Parliament of United Kingdom was called simon commission as the chairman of the commision was Sir John Simon.
  • It was the Indian Statutory Commission .
  • All parties boycotted the commission as all the members of commission were britishers.
  • The report was submitted in the year 1930 by the simon commission.
  • The commision recommended the  abolition of Dual government.
  • About three round table conference were held between the year 1930 and 1932.
  • The Second round Table conference was attended by the  Mahatma Gandhi.


Salient features of Indian constitution


Written  Constitution:

  • The Constitution of India is considered as a written constitution and is also the lengthiest constitution in the world.
  • Initially it considered 395 Articles, 22 parts and 8 Schedules but now they are 449 articles, 25 parts and 12 schedules.


Parliamentary form of  government:

  • Indian Constitution provides for a parliamentary form of government.
  • President is nominal head of the state.
  • The Govt. is run by the PM and members of the Council.
  • The Council of Ministers is together responsible to the Parliament.


Rigid as well as flexible:

  • The Constitution of India is not fully rigid not fully flexible.
  • The Indian constitution is  partly rigid and partly flexible.
  • This is because of provision of amendment, our constitution has been divided into three parts-
  1. Some of the  provisions of the constitution can be amended by a simple majority in the Parliament.
  2. And some provisions can be amended by a 2/3rd majority of the Parliament and its ratification by at least 50% states.
  3. The remaining provisions can be amended by the Parliament by two-third majority.


Best Coaching in Delhi/Ncr  for SSC

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

« »